Home | People | Rachel S. Goldman

Rachel  S. Goldman

Rachel S. Goldman



2094 H.H. Dow Building

T: (734) 647-6821


B.S. (Physics), University of Michigan, 1988
M.S. (Applied Physics), Cornell University, 1992
Ph.D. (Materials Science), University of California, San Diego, 1995


Professor of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, and Physics

Currently Teaching:

Research Interests:

In recent years, sophisticated techniques have been developed for the epitaxial growth of a variety of materials which have promising electronic, opto-electronic, and magnetic device applications. In most cases, processes occurring during growth and subsequent processing determine the ultimate structural and device properties. The important length scales over which structure limits device properties generally include the Fermi wavelength and film thickness, which range from 5 to 1000Å.

Prior Experience:

  • Internship, Thomson CSF, Laboratoire Central de Recherches, Orsay, France (1988)
  • Teaching Assistant, School of Applied & Engineering Physics, Cornell University (1988-89)
  • Graduate Research Assistant, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Cornell University (1989-1992)
  • Graduate Research Assistant, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of California, San Diego (1992-1995)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Physics, Carnegie Mellon University (1995-96)
  • Dow Corning Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Michigan (1997-1999)
  • Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Michigan (2000-2003)
  • Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Michigan (2003-2007)
  • Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan (2004-2007)
  • Associate Professor of Physics, University of Michigan (2007)
  • Augustus Anson Whitney Fellow, Radcliffe Institute of Advanced Study and Division of Engineering & Applied Sciences, Harvard University (2005-2006)
  • Professor of MSE, EECS, and Physics (2008-present)

Awards and Service:


  • Dow Corning Assistant Professorship (1997-1999)
  • Best Poster Award, AVS-MI Spring Symposium (1998, 2000)
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award (1998-2003)
  • University of Michigan Career Development Award (1999)
  • Best Poster Award, Spring Meeting of the Materials Research Society (2000)
  • Peter Mark Memorial Award, American Vacuum Society (presented to a young scientist or engineer for outstanding theoretical or experimental work) Citation: “for contributions to the fundamental understanding of strain relaxation, alloy formation, diffusion, and the correlations among microstructure, electronic, and optical properties” (2002)
  • Ted Kennedy Family Team Excellence Award, UM College of Engineering (2004)
  • Radcliffe Faculty Fellowship, Radcliffe Institute of Advanced Study, Harvard University (2005-2006)
  • UM Faculty Fellowship Enhancement Award (2005)


  • Associate Editor, J. Vacuum Science and Technology (2001-2006)
  • Associate Editor, J. Electronic Materials (2002-2007)
  • Guest Editor, J. Vacuum Science & Technology B (May/June 1999)
  • Guest Editor, Thin Solid Films (March 2000)

Federal Agencies

  • AAAS Site Review Team, New Mexico NSF-EPSCOR, Albuquerque, NM, April 3, 2006
  • Internal Site Review Team, Harvard University NSEC, Cambridge, MA, May 27, 2005
  • NSF-NIST Workshop on Reliability Issues in Nanomaterials, Boulder, Colorado, August 17-19, 2004.
  • First U.S.-China Workshop on Nanotechnology (May 17-19, 2004)
  • National Nanotechnology Initiative Interagency Grand Challenge Workshop on Instrumentation and Metrology 1/04
  • Site Review Team, U-Wisconsin MRSEC, Madison, Wisconsin, October 8-9, 2003

National and International Societies

  • AVS The Science & Technology Society
  • Board of Directors (2005-2008)
  • Electronic Materials & Processing Division (Chair, Vice-Chair) (2002-2004)
  • Chair, AVS Web Committee (2006-present)
  • Program Chair, Conference on the Physics and Chemistry of Semiconductor Interfaces (2007)
  • Materials Research Society
  • MRS Bulletin Volume Organizer, 2007
  • Symposium Organizer, “Self-Organized Processes in Semiconductor Heteroepitaxy” (F-2003)
  • Symposium Organizer, “Growth Instabilities and Decomposition During Heteroepitaxy” (F-1998)
  • The Minerals, Metals and Materials (TMS) Society
  • John Bardeen Award Committee (2006-2009)
  • Electronic Materials Committee (2003-present)
  • American Physical Society
  • Focused Session Organizer: “Solar Energy” (DMP/FIAP, 2007)
  • Focused Session Organizer: “Dilute Nitride Semiconductors: From Atoms to Devices” (FIAP, 2005)
  • Focused Session Organizer: "Nanometer-scale Morphologies of Surfaces, Interfaces, and Thin Films" (DMP, 2001)

Major University Service

  • Executive Committee, Applied Physics Program, University of Michigan, 2002-2005
  • Faculty Advisory Committee, UM Nano Science and Engineering Initiative, 2004
  • Academic Senate Assembly, University of Michigan, 2002-2005
  • Rackham Divisional Board, University of Michigan, 2003-2005
  • International Programs Committee, College of Engineering, 2004-present